Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Battle Armor Manipulators & Marine Points  (Read 1218 times)

LastChanceCav

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2459
  • Repossessing the dispossessed ...
(Answered) Battle Armor Manipulators & Marine Points
« on: 08 January 2012, 16:24:47 »
A couple of related questions from about the Battle Armor Modifiers Table (p. 202):

1) Does "Magnets" refer to both magnetic battle claws and magnetic clamps?

2) Are the bonuses cumulative? i.e., A unit mounting a Vibro Battle Claw satisfies both the "Mounts Claws and/or Magnets" and the "Mounts Vibro Claws" conditions (+1 ea.) and thus would be +2.

As I read the table a squad of 4 IS Medium Armors with vibro battle claws, magnetic clamps, space adaptation, cutting torches, and a burst fire weapon would be 30 Marine Points.
(1 each Trooper + 1 Medium weight + 1 mag clamps + 1 has claws + 1 claws are vibro + 1 burst fire weapon + 1 space adaptation + 0.25 cutting torch) = 7.25 x 4 = 30

Cheers,
LCC
« Last Edit: 19 November 2012, 18:25:20 by Xotl »
Last Chance Engineering - Bespoke Battlemechs for the refined gentleman.

Welshman

  • Chief Wrangler
  • Battletech Developer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10188
Re: Battle Armor Manipulators & Marine Points
« Reply #1 on: 09 January 2012, 15:25:25 »
1- Magnetic Claws and Mag Clamps both apply

2- Only one magnetic bonus, even if you have both.

Note- Magnetics only give bonuses for operations for boarding aerospace units in space or in any gravity of less than .25. They do not give bonus for use in ground combat boarding operations (Trains, Castle Brians, Grounded DropShips, etc.)
-Joel BC-
Catalyst Freelancer

"Some closets will never contain Narnia, no matter how many times we open the door." - Weirdo, in relation to the power of hope.

LastChanceCav

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2459
  • Repossessing the dispossessed ...
Re: Battle Armor Manipulators & Marine Points (Answered)
« Reply #2 on: 09 January 2012, 16:09:53 »
Thanks for the quick response.

For clarification, even though multiple magnet types are not cumulative are the "has claws and/or magnets" and "has vibro claws" cumulative? For example, would BA with just vibro battle claws would be +2 (+1 each for "has claws and/or magnets" and "has vibro claws"), or is the only way to get +2 from the various manipulator/magnet combos to combine mag clamps and vibro claws on the same BA?

Cheers,
LCC
Last Chance Engineering - Bespoke Battlemechs for the refined gentleman.

Welshman

  • Chief Wrangler
  • Battletech Developer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10188
Re: Battle Armor Manipulators & Marine Points (Answered)
« Reply #3 on: 09 January 2012, 16:28:11 »
For now, +2 requires both claws and something magnetic.

Please note, we are in the process of doing an end to end errata review of TacOps. This answer may be superseded by that errata at that time so be sure to check it.


EDIT: a final decision was issued in the latest TacOps errata.
« Last Edit: 19 November 2012, 18:26:01 by Xotl »
-Joel BC-
Catalyst Freelancer

"Some closets will never contain Narnia, no matter how many times we open the door." - Weirdo, in relation to the power of hope.