BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => Tactical Operations => Topic started by: Simon Landmine on 03 January 2021, 18:31:53

Title: (Answered) Double Blind and interrupted Jump movement
Post by: Simon Landmine on 03 January 2021, 18:31:53
This relates to using the Double Blind rules (as per TacOps:AR 'Corrected Fourth Printing' pp.188-192). Simultaneous Movement (referred to under Double Blind, p.188) is not being used. I could not find rules that explained how this situation would be resolved.

A 'mech (A) uses Jump movement to clear a Height 2 building and land on the other side of it.
The destination hex has a (previously undetected) opposing 'mech (B) in it.

1 If 'mech B has already completed its movement, would this result in an accidental Death From Above attack by 'mech A, or would it be something else?

2 If 'mech B has not yet moved, which of the following would apply?
- a 'mech A would have it's movement 'paused in midair' until 'mech B is moved, and would then complete its jump into the original destination hex once 'mech B has been moved.
- b 'mech A would end its jump early, in the penultimate hex of its jump path (on top of the building, in this case, which would then be checked for collapse).

Thanks!
Title: Re: (Research) Double Blind and interrupted Jump movement
Post by: Xotl on 20 February 2022, 19:50:22
1. DFA.

Otherwise, a fix for this was just posted in the new pre-release TO errata.
Title: Re: (Research) Double Blind and interrupted Jump movement
Post by: Simon Landmine on 20 February 2022, 20:02:45
Time for me to check the errata then, and then possibly lodge something for MegaMek regarding "Schrödinger's DFA". Thanks!