Register Register

Author Topic: Double blind - is visual range from attacker to target required?  (Read 201 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 97
The double-blind rules are found on pages 188-192 of Tactical Operations: Advanced Rules (6th printing).

When declaring weapon attacks, must the target be within the visual range of the attacker, or is the target being within visual range of any unit friendly to the attacker sufficient?

The phrasing on page 192 under the "Weapon Attack Phase" heading is "Only targets that have been spotted by a friendly unit in that turn may be attacked," which as written implies that if an enemy has been visually spotted by any unit, it can be attacked by that unit or any other unit on the same team. However, I wanted to verify if this interpretation was correct.

Sartris

  • Codex Conditor
  • BattleTech Volunteer
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 18203
  • Useless and I didn't even get to be pretty
    • Master Unit List
Re: Double blind - is visual range from attacker to target required?
« Reply #1 on: 03 December 2022, 23:02:38 »
Are you asking if you can declare (and presumably execute) attacks against targets outside of the firing unit's LoS but within a friendly unit's?

You bought the box set and are ready to expand your bt experience. Now what? | Modern Sourcebook Index | FASA Sourcebook Index | Print on Demand Index
Equipment Reference Cards | DIY Pilot Cards | PaperTech Mech and Vehicle Counters

Quote
Interviewer: Since you’ve stopped making art, how do you spend your time?
Paul Chan Breathers: Oh, I’m a breather. I’m a respirateur. Isn’t that enough?

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Double blind - is visual range from attacker to target required?
« Reply #2 on: 03 December 2022, 23:30:56 »
The double-blind rules on page 189 distinguish between "clear line of sight" (not blocked by hills, woods/smoke, etc as per standard Total Warfare rules) and "visual range" (within a certain distance based on unit type and current environmental conditions). I am asking if a unit with a clear line of sight to a target, but outside of its visual range of the target, can declare and execute attacks on said target as long as some other allied unit has visually spotted said target (as implied by the wording on page 192).

Example:

We are playing using the Double Blind rules. The environmental conditions are Heavy Rain, limiting visual range for mechs to 15 hexes. I have an Awesome that wishes to make a PPC attack on an Atlas 18 hexes away. The Awesome has a clear line of sight under standard rules, but is outside its visual range of the target. I also have a Spider with a clear line of sight to the Atlas, at a range of only 6 hexes (and therefore within visual range, hence why I can see the Atlas under double-blind rules). Can the Awesome make an attack on the Atlas?
« Last Edit: 04 December 2022, 14:20:03 by ArcFurnace »

 

Register