Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Flechette Artillery Ammo Explosion  (Read 607 times)

Jester006

  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 436
(Answered) Flechette Artillery Ammo Explosion
« on: 07 February 2022, 23:13:10 »
So a question popped up in the Everything Battletech Discord where someone asked what would happen if flechette ammo suffered a critical hit.

When I looked on page 167 of Tac Ops: AU&E, it didn't really give a definitive answer.

It says that Flechette Artillery rounds function as standard artillery weapons with some exceptions.  One of these exceptions is:

"Flechette shells inflict no armor damage against any armored unit with a BAR of 5 or higher (including battle armor, 'Mechs, ProtoMechs, most vehicles, aerospace units and Mobile Structures).  However, for all vehicles with a Wheeled or Hover motive system within a Flechette round's area of effect, the Attacker must make a roll on the appropriate vehicle's Motive System Damage Table (see p. 193, TW)."

So I have two questions.

1)  When a bin of flechette ammo is critted and explodes how much structural damage, if any, occurs?

2) If a mech, protomech, vehicle or aerospace unit has its armor stripped in a location that gets hit by a flechette round, does it take damage?
« Last Edit: 19 February 2022, 03:03:14 by Xotl »
Did you hear about the LEGO store grand opening?  People were lined up for blocks...

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10916
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Flechette Ammo Explosion
« Reply #1 on: 13 February 2022, 00:56:31 »
1) Normal (full) damage.

2) Again, full damage (armour is no longer involved).
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

 

Register