Register Register

Author Topic: (Research) Smoke dissipation check timing after placement  (Read 433 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 63
I am working from a 2008/first printing copy of Tactical Operations. While I do not see errata for the passage I am uncertain about, it might have changed in the newer two-volume version(s) anyway. In this version, the rules for smoke dissipation and drift are described on pages 47-48. The passage in question is: "Players only start to determine drift and dissipation for smoke during the End Phase following the turn in which the smoke was initially placed."

Clarification request: if smoke is placed during the Weapons Phase (e.g. by firing Smoke SRMs), does the resulting smoke cloud make its first check for dissipation during the End Phase of the turn in which the weapon attack occurred, or the turn after that? I initially assumed it was the latter (acting similarly to the ruling for the turn in which missile generated smoke is guaranteed to dissipate), but after reading the wording more carefully I managed to confuse myself into just enough uncertainty that I felt asking for clarification of the rule's intent would be simpler.

Alternately, is the "check for dissipation" rule supposed to apply to weapon-generated smoke at all? The passage on page 48 describing its application to a cloud of smoke from smoke LRMs implies it should be, but that may have changed as well.
« Last Edit: 15 April 2021, 20:54:13 by Xotl »

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: (Research) Smoke dissipation check timing after placement
« Reply #1 on: 28 July 2021, 18:14:12 »
Bump.

 

Register