Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Pilot status after Center Torso destruction  (Read 1399 times)

drjones

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 68
(Answered) Pilot status after Center Torso destruction
« on: 11 January 2021, 08:29:34 »
Under the Tactical Operations ejection rules (pg. 164-165) what is the status of the warrior after a mech's center torso is destroyed without an ammunition explosion? Total Warfare's unit destruction rules (pg. 128) indicate that the mech is destroyed but the warrior survives. However, this scenario doesn't appear to fall under auto-ejection or a situation in which the warrior can elect to eject.

My interpretation has been that the warrior "crawls out of the wreckage" (no roll for ejection) and then moves as an ejected pilot. However, another player in my group challenged this idea, pointing out that the mech's head would be falling from approximately level two after the center torso is destroyed if the mech is not prone.
« Last Edit: 18 February 2022, 03:05:22 by Xotl »

drjones

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Pilot status after mech center torso destruction -- ejected?
« Reply #1 on: 31 December 2021, 10:03:13 »
Bump, while reviewing ejection rules after a recent scenario. (In this case it was less relevant as both 'mechs suffering center torso destruction were prone.)

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10828
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Pilot status after Center Torso destruction
« Reply #2 on: 01 February 2022, 00:26:17 »
In Total Warfare, if a unit is destroyed (see p. 128) it is out of the game and no longer affects game play.  While the pilot/crew may survive, they also no longer affect Total Warfare game play.

We are issuing the following errata to cover this situation.

p. 128 TW:
"The destruction of the head, cockpit or center torso has the same effects and renders a ’Mech destroyed"

AFTER THIS ADD

" If tracking damage for salvage purposes / campaign play, resolve an automatic fall if the ’Mech was standing at the start of the phase it was destroyed in; a MechWarrior who survives in such a scenario suffers automatic falling damage as well."


p. 197/165 TO

"Water: A MechWarrior cannot eject if the cockpit is submerged (unless it is a full-head eject system; see above)."

AFTER THIS ADD

"Abandonment: A MechWarrior who wishes to abandon their 'Mech must announce this during the End Phase of any turn in which their 'Mech is prone. The 'Mech must be shutdown. During the End Phase of the subsequent turn, the MechWarrior will enter the same hex as the 'Mech, just as if they had successfully ejected; see above. An adjacent hex may be entered if stacking limits prevent the use of the hex the 'Mech is in.
If the MechWarrior cannot enter a legal hex, they cannot abandon the 'Mech."
« Last Edit: 20 February 2022, 19:24:05 by Xotl »
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0