Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) iNarc ECM/EECM pods per unit  (Read 782 times)

Red Pins

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3313
  • Inspiration+Creativity=Insanity
(Answered) iNarc ECM/EECM pods per unit
« on: 25 November 2021, 00:49:09 »
The iNarc ECM pod can switch between ECM/ECCM pods provided the player marks it as such - TO, pg 100.

If a unit is the target of multiple ECCM pods that strike successfully, does that provide a higher level of ECCM to a target?  Or is it restricted to a single ECCM pod?


« Last Edit: 23 January 2022, 00:46:46 by Xotl »
...Visit the Legacy Cluster...
The New Clans:Volume One
Clan Devil Wasp * Clan Carnoraptor * Clan Frost Ape * Clan Surf Dragon * Clan Tundra Leopard
Now with MORE GROGNARD!  ...I think I'm done.  I've played long enough to earn a pension, fer cryin' out loud!  IlClan and out in <REDACTED>!
Glitter - the herpes of the craft supply world.

Welshman

  • Chief Wrangler
  • BattleTech Developer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10410
Re: (Answered) iNarc ECM/EECM pods per unit
« Reply #1 on: 25 January 2022, 14:42:04 »
Apologies, for the brain failure.

TacOps ECCM rules (p. 100 2nd Printing)
Quote
If the amount of friendly ECCM in a hex is equal to or greater
than the enemy ECM in that hex, ECM does not function in that
hex. For this purpose, the Angel ECM suite (see p. 279) counts
as two ECM or ECCM suites, or the player can choose to run the
Angel at 1 ECM and 1 ECCM.

Each ECCM pod is a single instance of ECCM, so they stack.
-Joel BC-
Catalyst Freelancer

"Some closets will never contain Narnia, no matter how many times we open the door." - Weirdo, in relation to the power of hope.

Red Pins

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3313
  • Inspiration+Creativity=Insanity
Re: (Answered) iNarc ECM/EECM pods per unit
« Reply #2 on: 25 January 2022, 21:17:29 »
Eh?

Um, was another question deleted or something?  I thought I had three pod questions but I can only find two going back over my posts.

So, more than one Narc pod can strike a drone? And if those are ECCM pods, they could counteract a Guardian ECM field?  Would the drones able to operate normally, even though the control signal intersects the drone and the controller??

My understanding is the pods don't emit a field beyond the skin of the unit with the ECCM pods, so a single hex of the area in the ECM field would causes the drone to lose the controller signal.
...Visit the Legacy Cluster...
The New Clans:Volume One
Clan Devil Wasp * Clan Carnoraptor * Clan Frost Ape * Clan Surf Dragon * Clan Tundra Leopard
Now with MORE GROGNARD!  ...I think I'm done.  I've played long enough to earn a pension, fer cryin' out loud!  IlClan and out in <REDACTED>!
Glitter - the herpes of the craft supply world.

Welshman

  • Chief Wrangler
  • BattleTech Developer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10410
Re: (Answered) iNarc ECM/EECM pods per unit
« Reply #3 on: 26 January 2022, 16:41:23 »
Drone question I believe is in another thread.

That said, any ECM interference between the drone and the carrier will block signal, as you've noted
-Joel BC-
Catalyst Freelancer

"Some closets will never contain Narnia, no matter how many times we open the door." - Weirdo, in relation to the power of hope.