Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) OmniFighter fuel capacity  (Read 2684 times)

A. Lurker

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4641
(Answered) OmniFighter fuel capacity
« on: 23 April 2011, 07:28:49 »
TechManual p. 186 states that an OmniFighter's internal fuel capacity is set as part of its base configuration and cannot thereafter be altered "in its completed Primary or Alternate configurations". This would make adding extra internal fuel in the form of pods illegal, yet there are canon OmniFighters that appear to do exactly that (such as the Vandal Prime). So one source or the other has to be in error...but which?
« Last Edit: 20 August 2012, 21:43:35 by Xotl »

A. Lurker

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4641
Re: OmniFighter fuel capacity
« Reply #1 on: 01 May 2011, 02:18:41 »
Seems I found my answer in the archives -- it's okay to add fuel as pods, just not remove any. The errata under consideration back in 2008 just never seems to have been actually incorporated anywhere, and I'll point that out in the relevant thread on the Errata board in a moment.

(Side note: this does make it technically feasible to create OmniFighters whose base chassis includes no "fixed" fuel at all. Not necessarily a good idea in actual practice, human forgetfulness being what it is, but doable in principle.)