BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => TechManual => Topic started by: Daryk on 28 June 2022, 20:28:44

Title: (Answered) Heavy Burst Special Stacking
Post by: Daryk on 28 June 2022, 20:28:44
So... with the "nerf" to infantry weapons, i.e., anything over 0.60 damage used as a Primary Weapon is limited to that, but grants the Heavy Burst Special (bottom of page 9 of TechManual Errata v6.0, dated 12 February 2022): does that effect stack if the Squad gains Heavy Burst from another source (either its support weapons, or simply by using the infamous M42B... or insanely, BOTH!)?  This would mean 2d6 (or 3d6!) Anti-Infantry damage is possible from a single squad.  This issue has gained a bit more relevance with the recent articles in Shrapnel that gave us yet more weapons that do over 0.60 damage as "Standard" (potential "Primary") vice "Support" weapons.
Title: Re: Does the Heavy Burst Special Stack?
Post by: Sartris on 04 July 2022, 10:24:14
Heavy Burst is binary so either a unit has it or it does not. It does not stack.
Title: Re: Does the Heavy Burst Special Stack?
Post by: Daryk on 04 July 2022, 11:35:58
Thanks Sartris!  That's what i thought, but wanted to make sure with all the extra Heavy Burst bonuses flying around these days.  :thumbsup: