Register Register

Author Topic: 3D terrain with hexes - aesthetics vs. rules compatibility  (Read 873 times)

Ishor

• Recruit
As a Battletech newbie I've been thinking about modelling some 3D terrain to be used, most likely, with a 1.75" hex mat. Looking at all the models already available for printing, as well as pictures people have taken of their setups, got me thinking:
How many compromises with rules do people generally have to make when using 3D terrain with hexes? Especially regarding rules for interacting with buildings? Plenty of buildings don't seem like a model could actually be balanced on each hex it's occupying, if a model were to land on it during gameplay. Also shouldn't each hex of a building be destructible? Are these rules simply not used, or are things like model positions and damage states tracked separately in these cases?

Would terrain pieces with, for example removable top details and enough footprint per hex to actually fit a 30mm hex base, be considered "superior" compared to normal ones? Buildings and walls that can be replaced with destroyed ones per hex rather than removing the whole thing? Naturally going that far would lead to major compromises in aesthetics, but would you rather have the added functionality? Is there already something like this available and I just haven't come across it?

NeonKnight

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: 3D terrain with hexes - aesthetics vs. rules compatibility
« Reply #1 on: 26 April 2020, 11:55:40 »