Register Register

Author Topic: I need feedback on applying decals on varnished minis  (Read 673 times)

RazorclawXLS

• Master Sergeant
I need feedback on applying decals on varnished minis
« on: 08 December 2021, 10:48:41 »
I have some mechs that I started painting a few months back, and I was planning on putting some decals on them.

The problem is the decals I need I can't find on sale right now, and ordering from FPG is going to take 2 months at best, considering the holiday season is upon us. Not to mention that I am apprehensive of ordering the same stuff again for the second time.

So I am thinking of varnishing my mechs immediately after I finish painting them, and then apply the decals when I have them in hand.

I have no experience in doing it this way, as I always added decals before varnishing the mechs.

So I need some feedback from people who applied decals after they varnished their mechs.

What can I expect, if there is something that I will need to pay attention to, perhaps change some steps, or omit some steps?

Is decal fix going to work the same way? (especially important because the newer KS sculpts are full of panels, and even for smallest FPG decals finding a flat area with no panel lines is not easy)

NeonKnight

• Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: I need feedback on applying decals on varnished minis
« Reply #1 on: 08 December 2021, 11:25:42 »
Well...considering some advice is to apply a small dab of FUTURE floor wax to the area to set the decal...don;t see an issue. And I have personally painted and sealed a great many minis and then put decals on months after and never had an issue.

If you do do this, I would say just put another little dab of varnish overtop the decal afterwards.
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Rougarou Rhapsody

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Sergeant
« Reply #2 on: 08 December 2021, 11:31:44 »