Register Register

Author Topic: Sealing--final step  (Read 496 times)

MarauderD

• Major
Sealing--final step
« on: 01 January 2022, 13:04:33 »
So as a new hobby painter, I find the lingo tripping me up a bit--but my question is about sealing/varnish. 

After I've done some decals and gloss sealer (Krylon Fusion All-In-One Gloss Clear Sealer) the last step I've been taking is to use a Matte Sealer (Varnish as many folks for Europe/ANZAC land call it). 

My current Matte Sealer is the same brand of rattle can as above (Krylon Fusion All-In-One Matte Clear Sealer).  It has worked just fine on the last 50 or so Minis, giving a nice matte finish.  Except on one set of 5 minis--particularly, my first five. 

It has worn off those five twice now.  Maybe I put too much paint on them (I certainly did).  Perhaps it is that I put too much gloss sealer on them--because they were the first minis I sealed, I can't quite recall.  Fact is though, that this matte sealer isn't cutting it.

Should I try to buy a can Testor's Dullcote?  What is the best spray can Matte Sealer/Varnish out there?  I need something that will finally stop these 5 minis from shining through!

worktroll

• Ombudsman
  • Colonel
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: Sealing--final step
« Reply #1 on: 01 January 2022, 15:25:09 »
Gloss sealer is inherently stronger than matt sealer. Just is, presumably a consequence of how the matt effect is produced.

So the top of line approach is to put down a coat or two of gloss sealer, then a coat of matt sealer. When you notice that the mini's showing shiny patches where the matt's worn off, then it's time for a light recoat of matt. Highly recommended for minis that are going to get a lot of handling.