Register Register

Author Topic: Tools for old Farts..or Sounguru's toy list..  (Read 752 times)

sounguru

• Master Sergeant
  • When all else fails shoot the messenger.
Tools for old Farts..or Sounguru's toy list..
« on: 18 October 2022, 12:46:13 »
So as I age and life has taken it's toll on my body I have found that doing things the way I used to is harder or almost impossible. Just to give you a starting point I have severe damage to the pinkie side of my right had that has immobilized my knuckle. Now after one steel plate and 27 screws later at least it is still attached but of little use in gripping things. The other is eyesight as I age it is going down quickly.

So on to the reason of this thread.

I am making this list for both us older banged up folks and those of the younger gen that have decided to put down the phone and pick up a brush. When I started painting years ago I had no clue what to buy or what would make my painting better and easier. The internet was not a real thing back then and film was still the medium we had to use to shoot images. Not to mention there were very few paint lines to choose from even though game shops were more prevalent.

So zoom forward to today and I found that shaking a bottle of paint which was a breeze in the old days ended up with a flying bottle of paint and a scared Bully dog. Compound that with a fuzzy mini even base layers looked bad. When my son asked me to show him how to paint and then quickly got bored I found doing it the old way wasn't gonna work.

So here are the first things I did to change that reality and make my life and maybe yours easier...

Magnifier - Now these can come in several forms from one on a boom arm with or without a light to the ones surgeons and dentist use. I have found the ones seen in the pictures are just right for me. The interchangeable lenses make it easier for me to see the finest detail... @ around $20 I have used these for years even before the eyesight started to go.