Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered UPDATED) Armor-piercing criticals  (Read 2708 times)

Legion

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • Je te provoque en duel, Freebirth!
(Answered UPDATED) Armor-piercing criticals
« on: 25 September 2012, 11:53:04 »
I have a senario for you: a Mech is hit with AC20 AP ammo in the Left Torso, which destroys the remaining armor and all structure in the Left Torso, and leftover damage transfers to the armor of the Center Torso.  Now, from what I understand, you would roll a normal crit chance on the Left Torso from damaging structure, but would you roll for an AP crit chance on the Center Torso?

Total Warfare pg. 140 says that every attack with armor-piercing ammunition that successfully damages armor provides a chance for a critical hit, but also that AP ammo has no additional effect for attacks that damage internal structure.  Which one of these phrases trumps the other?
« Last Edit: 06 September 2017, 18:42:16 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10916
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Researching) Armor-piercing criticals
« Reply #1 on: 06 October 2012, 17:33:39 »
Each AP attack that damages armour only allows one critical hit chance ("provides a chance for a critical hit)".  The special critical chance caused by AP ammo would be assigned in your example to the Left Torso, even though that location will be destroyed by the damage being dealt.  That is because, on p. 122 of Total Warfare, criticals are resolved before checking to see if the location is destroyed by points of damage: sometimes the resulting critical will score an ammo critical hit in a location before that location is destroyed by the damage being dealt right after.

So, for summary:

Armour Damage: Left Torso
 - the single critical check triggered by an AP ammo strike is checked for at this point and applied to the LT location
Internal Damage: Left Torso
 - another critical check triggered by internal damage.  Left Torso then destroyed.
Armour Damage: Center Torso (transfer)
 - remaining damage applied to CT armour, no further effect

Hope this settles things.
« Last Edit: 07 September 2017, 01:02:45 by Xotl »
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Legion

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • Je te provoque en duel, Freebirth!
Re: (Answered) Armor-piercing criticals
« Reply #2 on: 07 October 2012, 19:41:31 »
Thank you, it certainly does!

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10916
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered UPDATED) Armor-piercing criticals
« Reply #3 on: 06 September 2017, 18:42:02 »
Please note that we're changing our answer here.  The previous answer ignored the existence of the "Destroyed Location" rule on TW page 124 (easy enough to do, because it's not represented on the Step-By-Step damage process on pages 122-123, and is separated from those rules by a page or two).

The new ruling, currently in print in the new BattleMech Manual and to be entered into TW errata, is as follows:

When a location is destroyed, rather than just damaged, no check for critical hits in that location is made unless it contains one or more explosive slots. In that case, any resulting critical hits that strike explosive slots in that location are resolved as normal; hits that do not are always discarded without transferring.

In other words, you check for crits if you damage a location, but not if you destroy it, unless when it is destroyed it has ammo in it.  Even then, any crits that result never transfer.

In terms of the specific scenario given in the original post, the crit chance generated by AP ammo would usually be lost, because the initial location that's damaged is also destroyed at the same time (which usually obviates crit checks for there).  The AP ammo crit chance would also not carry over to the location the damage transferred to.  However, following the Destroyed Location rule, if the location that is destroyed has ammo, make both the normal crit check and the AP ammo crit check (presuming you damaged armor with the same attack, since AP ammo does not grant a crit check if it only damages structure).  Any AP crits in this case would never transfer, just like any regular crits generated in this case.
« Last Edit: 09 September 2017, 19:33:51 by Xotl »
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Legion

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • Je te provoque en duel, Freebirth!
Re: (Answered UPDATED) Armor-piercing criticals
« Reply #4 on: 09 September 2017, 15:21:21 »
Thanks for the clarification.  Almost 5 years later, I'm impressed you returned to update the answer, kudos to you!

 

Register