Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings  (Read 426 times)

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5236
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
(Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« on: 02 August 2020, 11:09:41 »
With regards to this (came up in a game last night, and we were really headscratching as we had the newest updates of Books)

https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=66113.msg1524369#msg1524369

So, I realize the example is wrong, but can we also get a clarification as to what exactly counts as a 'LEVEL ABOVE'.

So, we know from Page 171 (TW) and Page 71 (BMM) that a Mech inside a Building counts as only occupying a single level, should we then count the levels as shown in BLUE in the Example (Mech is at Level 0, there is a Level 1 and a Level 2 above), or is it counted like in RED (mech in 1n Level 1 of the Building, there is the LEVEL and ROOF above)

i.e. According to the info, the Archer in the Example is inside Level 1 of a level 2 Building, with only a Single Level above on the left, and on the right, is inside a level 6 building (on the 4th level, but at standing at level 3).

Confusing I know, Because, on the left, while the archer is IN Level 1, there is ultimately only 1 level above (the level 2), and on the right, the Archer is IN Level 4 and has two levels above.
« Last Edit: 13 August 2020, 01:39:11 by Xotl »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9653
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #1 on: 13 August 2020, 01:39:05 »
Errata:

Collapse, 4th para, p. 73:
When a building hex collapses, any ’Mech in it takes damage equal to the hex’s CF at the start of the phase divided by 10 (round up), multiplied by the number of building levels above that ’Mech. ’Mechs on the top level or roof apply no multiplier (i.e. the roof does not count as a level above for this purpose).
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5236
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #2 on: 13 August 2020, 08:47:33 »
Gotch, so in example then, Mech on Left has 1 level above (multiplier x1), mech on right has 2 levels, (Multiplier x2)
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5236
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #3 on: 14 August 2020, 09:04:10 »
Sorry to do this, but:


https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=68307.0


Here the infantry are in a Level 1 building, (no level above) and has a damage multiplier of x1, yet is sounds like in my example above if the archer is one Level 1 with no multipler (this is not treated as x0, but x1), and has 1 level above, that then is a multiplier of x1.

It is beginning to sound like the multiplier is equal to being 1 (for being inside a building) +1 for each level above, with the roof not counting.

So, the Mech on the left's multiplier is 1 +1 for x2, and the mech on the right's is 1 + 2 = x3

Is that correct?
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9653
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #4 on: 16 August 2020, 04:14:39 »
No.  Units on the top level or roof apply no multiplier (i.e. the roof does not count as a level above for this purpose).

In the example you linked to, he multiplied by 1, but x1 and applying no multiplier amount to the same thing mathwise.

1 floor above = x1 damage, i.e. no actual extra damage
0 floors above or on roof = no multiplied damage at all, i.e. effectively the same as above

x0 is impossible because that means that you would negate all damage.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5236
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #5 on: 16 August 2020, 10:30:40 »
Sorry, but still seeing an error. Maybe if I color code the errata rule, it might help

Errata:

Collapse, 4th para, p. 73:
When a building hex collapses, any ’Mech in it takes damage equal to the hex’s CF at the start of the phase divided by 10 (round up), multiplied by the number of building levels above that ’Mech. ’Mechs on the top level or roof apply no multiplier (i.e. the roof does not count as a level above for this purpose).

CF/10 = x * y (where y = # of level above)

So, in Example 1, my Archer on the 1st floor of a 1 story CF40 building with no level above, and it takes:

CF40/10 for 4 Damage


In Example 2, the Archer is on the First floor of a Level 2 CF40 building and it takes:

CF40/10 for 4 Damage, * 1 (1 floor above) = 4 * 1 = 4.

and in Example 3, the Archer is on the First floor of a level 4 (3 levels above)

CF40/10 for 4 Damage, * 3 (3 floor above) = 4 * 3 = 12.

However, I believe the damage should be:

Example 1: 4 Damage
Example 2: 8 Damage
Example 3: 16 Damage

The problem is the rule is not saying to add the additional floors to the 'base damage', but rather just multiply the base damage by the number of levels above.

Maybe the rule should be something like:

Collapse, 4th para, p. 73:
When a building hex collapses, any ’Mech in it takes a base damage equal to the hex’s CF at the start of the phase divided by 10 (round up). Add to this, the base damage multiplied by the number of building levels above that ’Mech. ’Mechs on the top level or roof apply no multiplier (i.e. the roof does not count as a level above for this purpose).
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9653
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #6 on: 16 August 2020, 15:59:13 »
Yeah, that works.  I'll modify the errata.  Thanks.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5236
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Collapsing Buildings
« Reply #7 on: 16 August 2020, 16:07:24 »
Yeah, that works.  I'll modify the errata.  Thanks.

thanx...thought I was going crazy.
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada