Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Intervening water blocks LOS  (Read 462 times)

sunsanvil

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 1
(Answered) Intervening water blocks LOS
« on: 08 December 2019, 13:51:58 »
From the rule book: "Water: Intervening water blocks LOS for the purpose of these rules".



It has been suggested that that rule means these two mechs might not have line of sight to each other.

Can anyone suggest an authoritative clarification on the subject?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: 05 June 2020, 01:54:19 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9573
  • Professor of Errata
Re: "Intervening water blocks LOS"
« Reply #1 on: 09 December 2019, 15:29:29 »
For BT, intervening means not just "in between" but specifically "in the way".  What makes a hex intervening is strictly defined on p. 13 of AGoAC.

The rules passage you're quoting is saying that you can't see a submerged unit when using the intro box rules, because at that point the water is intervening (is in the way).  However, water just lying at your feet along the LOS has no effect on LOS.  And if both of you are in level 1 water, you can still see and shoot at each other as well (each would have partial cover).

(More advanced rulesets like TW and the BMM allow submerged units to see each other and then provide underwater combat rules, but the intro box doesn't in the name of simplicity; hence the "for the purposes of these rules" part.)
« Last Edit: 12 August 2020, 22:51:13 by Xotl »
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0