Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up  (Read 497 times)

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5204
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
With the answer here of Side torso destoyred and Arm falls to ground, does this mean the arm can be picked up and used as a club as per the ARM BLOWN OFF critical on Page 125 of TW (page 47 of BMM)?
« Last Edit: 19 April 2020, 21:13:27 by Hammer »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Hammer

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2957
    • MegaMek Website
Re: Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #1 on: 19 April 2020, 16:23:31 »
See TW pg 146 - Finding a Club
MegaMek Projects Wiki
Bug Trackers
MegaMek Tracker
MekHQ Tracker
MegaMekLab Tracker
New Units and RAT's aren't added until after the 2 month release moratorium is passed.


NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5204
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #2 on: 19 April 2020, 18:28:53 »
I did, but the rule in question states:

Quote
FINDING A CLUB
Whenever an attack blows off a ’Mech’s leg or arm, the limb
remains lying in the hex where the ’Mech took the damage.
’Mechs that later occupy the hex may pick up the arm or leg and
use it as a giant club. A ’Mech may not fire weapons or make
physical attacks during the turn that it picks up a club.

however, the only rules for an ARM BLOWN OFF is (as per the INDEX, Arm, blown off, 125).

And that rule is:

Quote
Arm Blown Off (Arm)
This critical hit occurs when the player rolls a 12 on the
Determining Critical Hits Table, if the location hit is an arm, and
is automatic (the player rolling the critical hits cannot choose
to roll the three critical hits instead). The hit blows the arm off,
and the weapons and equipment mounted in that arm are no
longer available to the ’Mech. The arm may be picked up and
used as a club per the rules for Club Attacks, p. 145.

Which then begs the question. If a mech's Side torso is destroyed, and as stated here:

Quote
1: The moment a location's last internal structure dot is filled in, the entire location is gone, including any remaining armor facings. Arms attached to a now-lost side torso immediately fall to the ground.

That does not qualify, under the RaW, that the arm counts as 'blown off'
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Hammer

  • Moderator
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2957
    • MegaMek Website
Re: (Research) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #3 on: 19 April 2020, 21:13:06 »
Yes, the arm can be picked and used as a club. In essence the destruction of the torso has "blown off" the arm.
MegaMek Projects Wiki
Bug Trackers
MegaMek Tracker
MekHQ Tracker
MegaMekLab Tracker
New Units and RAT's aren't added until after the 2 month release moratorium is passed.


NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5204
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #4 on: 19 April 2020, 22:43:45 »
Cool!

Thanx!
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9640
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #5 on: 05 June 2020, 15:51:45 »
Also note that per p. 36 of the BMM, this scenario is expressly covered (i.e. side torso loss is explicitly ruled to count).
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5204
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Side Destroyed - Arms Off - Can Arm be picked up
« Reply #6 on: 05 June 2020, 16:11:50 »
Ah, Thanx I see it there!
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

 

Register