Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) C3 and ECM  (Read 621 times)

MrPopo

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 6
(Answered) C3 and ECM
« on: 20 October 2021, 15:32:28 »
The basic question:

Mechs M and S are in a C3 network.  Enemy Mech E has Guardian ECM.  Mech M is 7 hexes from E, Mech S is 12 hexes from E.  The LOS between M and S does not pass through the bubble.  When Mech S fires at E, is it considered to be 7 or 12 hexes away for range bracket purposes?

The parts that led to confusion:

The beginning of the ECM section in TW states "all shots that pass through are affected".  The paragraph going into examples referencing the diagram on page 135 states "A shot from Hex C to Hex D would also be affected because LOS".  But the actual C3 section only references whether or not units stay in the network.  So the confusion came as to whether the ECM caused the C3 targeting data to be affected.
« Last Edit: 27 January 2022, 17:01:50 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10749
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) C3 and ECM
« Reply #1 on: 27 January 2022, 17:01:45 »
We'll be adding a new para to the ECM section, at the end of the para dealing with C3 (p. 135), which reads:

Quote
When targeting units, so long as the units involved are not cut off from their network, C3 is not affected by LOS being traced through an ECM radius.

There's also this passage in the BMM, p. 112:

Quote
ECM cuts off any C3-equipped ’Mech from its network. Only those C3 ’Mechs able to draw an LOS to the master ’Mech that does not pass through the ECM radius can access the network.

We'll be adding an addendum there:

Quote
However, as long as a ’Mech is not cut off, enemy ECM does not affect its ability to share C3 targeting data.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0