Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Mechanized Battle Armor with UMU dismounting underwater  (Read 699 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 89
The rules for underwater movement of both submarine/UMU and non-naval units are described on Total Warfare (9th printing) pages 56-57. The rules for Mechanized Battle Armor are found on pages 226-227 of the same rulebook. BA UMU are found in TechManual (page 270), but that only describes the construction restrictions and is therefore not needed here (TM readers are referred to Total Warfare for combat rules).

Question is as in the title: Can a squad of battle armor with UMU MP (such as the Undine), riding an OmniMech underwater using the Mechanized Battle Armor rules, dismount from their carrier while underwater?

The TW rules on page 57 are quite clear that most BA cannot (since they cannot normally enter water of depth 1 or greater at all), but BA with UMU MP can enter water and maneuver freely, and therefore might be expected to operate differently. However, this is not explicitly specified anywhere that I could find.
« Last Edit: 08 September 2022, 00:05:37 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10878
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Mechanized Battle Armor with UMU dismounting underwater
« Reply #1 on: 08 September 2022, 00:05:31 »
Page 227 that states no unit may expend UMU MP if carrying BA.  However, we'll be errating TW to make it possible for the dismount to occur.

Text on p. 57 would read:

Quote
    Mechanized Battle Armor: While most battle armor cannot normally enter water of depth 1 or greater, they can still be moved into and underwater by other units as per the normal rules (see p. 227). Unless they have UMU MPs, mechanized battle armor being transported in such a fashion cannot voluntarily abandon their transport; if forcibly removed or their transport is destroyed, they immediately sink to the bottom of the hex and are rendered immobile. Battle armor with UMU MPs may mount or dismount Omni units as per the naval carrier rules (see p. 224).


Text on p. 227 would be changed to:

Quote
    Movement Restrictions: Whether or not the battle armor is equipped with magnetic clamps, no vehicle may expend VTOL, WiGE, or Jumping MP while carrying mechanized battle armor.

3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: (Answered) Mechanized Battle Armor with UMU dismounting underwater
« Reply #2 on: 08 September 2022, 17:47:01 »
I think the idea was that the OmniMech would be walking underwater, due to the mentioned prohibition on UMU use while carrying mechanized BA, but allowing UMU use by the 'mech makes this even more effective! Thanks for the updates.

 

Register