BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => Total Warfare => Topic started by: Lorcan Nagle on 22 April 2022, 03:53:14

Title: (Answered) CASE, Ammo explosions and PSRs
Post by: Lorcan Nagle on 22 April 2022, 03:53:14
If a 'Mech suffers an ammo explosion in a CASE or CASE-II protected bay during a phase that generates more than 20 points of damage, but results in less than 20 points of total damage being applied to the 'Mech (like, say a heat-induced ammo explosion in an already heavily damaged location), does it generate a PSR?
Title: Re: CASE, Ammo explosions and PSRs
Post by: Paul on 22 April 2022, 20:07:19
No.

Example:
Side torso has CASE and 19 internals. No armor.
Hit with a Medium laser: 5 damage
Crit results in an ammo explosion of a ton of machine gun ammo. 400 damage potential.
14 is applied to the internals, the remaining damage is vented due to CASE.
'Mech has suffered 5+14=19 damage; no PSR needed for 20+ damage, since we didn't hit 20.