Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED  (Read 731 times)

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6041
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
(Answered) DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« on: 03 October 2022, 16:56:20 »
Ok....let's try this one more time as sadly there are conflicting official answers.  :))

I had originally asked what happens when rhe target of a DFA is destroyed here:

https://bg.battletech.com/forums/total-warfare/answered-dfa-target-destroyed-before-physical-phase/msg1474972/#msg1474972

And found an answered identical question from years ago here

https://bg.battletech.com/forums/total-warfare/(answered)-dfa-on-destroyed-target/msg10559/#msg10559

Resulted in the mech making the DFA simply landing in the target hex.

But....a similar question asked about targeting a Mech that then falls in Depth 1 water so it is now submerged results in as if the DFA failed.

https://bg.battletech.com/forums/total-warfare/answered-dfa-vs-submerged-target-mech/msg1561093/#msg1561093

Which is correct as in both examples there is no longer z valid target. Only difference is one is destroyed and the other the target is now submerged.



« Last Edit: 17 November 2022, 13:39:21 by Xotl »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6041
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« Reply #1 on: 07 October 2022, 11:39:19 »
*UPDATE*

Just thought of Third Variant that really throws a monkey wrench into the works.

So:

1: DFA against Target on Land that is destroyed in Weapon phase (Head Hit/Ammo explosion, etc.) = Land in Target Hex

2: DFA Against in Water that Falls in Hex so now submerged and not visible = Auto Fail/Fall for Damage to Attacker

But a Third variation exists that straddles the line between the above two:

3: DFA Against a Target in Water that is Destroyed in Weapon Phase (Head Hit/Ammo Explosion, etc.) = ?

As can be seen with two different outcomes the third situation is sticky? the Only difference is no Mech lying on the bottom of the Water.

My Personal Hope is to make all answers easiest to deal with is treat the DFA Attack as a fail, with attacker falling.

This is further supported in the rules with the DISPLACEMENT rules as seen on Page 55 of the BMM (*NOTE: this timing rule is missing from TOTAL WARFARE page 151):

Quote
Timing: Displacement (including any resulting PSRs and
damage) is resolved immediately after the action that caused it,
regardless of what phase it is. If any damage was inflicted by the
action that caused the displacement, apply it before resolving the
displacement, even though the phase has not yet ended.

If a physical attack might cause displacement, and in doing
so interrupt another physical attack, the ’Mech with the lower
Initiative (i.e. the first to move) resolves its physical attack first. If
both attackers are on the same side, the controlling player(s) may
determine which attack is resolved first. If no valid target exists, the
attack automatically fails.
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6041
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« Reply #2 on: 07 November 2022, 20:44:32 »
Ba-da-da-bump
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10915
  • Professor of Errata
Re: DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« Reply #3 on: 17 November 2022, 13:39:14 »
The water situation is different from the target no longer existing, and so is resolved differently.  Displacement is its own thing, and also handled differently.

If the target is destroyed, it's gone, regardless of whether it was originally in water or not.

Basically the situations as expressed in the current printings/errata for the BMM stay as they are.
« Last Edit: 17 November 2022, 14:59:40 by Xotl »
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6041
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« Reply #4 on: 17 November 2022, 13:54:08 »
The water situation is different from the target no longer existing, and so is resolved differently.  Displacement is its own thing, and also handled differently.

If the target is destroyed, it's gone, regardless of whether it was originally in water or not.

Basically the situations as expressed in the current printings/errata for the BMM stay as they are.

Gotcha - So I understand it:

Target Destroyed = Land Safely

Target Falls in Water = Failed Attack - Take Fall Damage

Target Displaced away = Failed Attack - Take Fall Damage
« Last Edit: 17 November 2022, 15:00:23 by Xotl »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10915
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) DFA and Target now missing -REVISITED
« Reply #5 on: 17 November 2022, 15:00:13 »
Yes.  Essentially it's simpler than adding individual attack exceptions to the blanket displacement ruling.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

 

Register