Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) DFA Displacement Question  (Read 387 times)

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5967
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
(Answered) DFA Displacement Question
« on: 21 May 2022, 11:45:53 »
This is a weird question as I really do not if this is even the right place to ask.

On Page 150 of TW and Page 37 of BMM, the LOCATION AFTER ATTACK/DFA for Prohibited terrain
the rules goes into great detail of which hexside the target gets moved into, yet there is no corresponding diagram.

Quote
Prohibited Terrain: If the target ’Mech would be displaced
into prohibited terrain (besides off the playing area, which is
allowed and destroys the target), another hex must be chosen
as close as possible to the original hexside through which the
target ’Mech would have moved. For example, if a target ’Mech
would be displaced through hexside A, but A is prohibited, its
controller then looks at hexsides B or F to see if those hexes are
passable, then at hexsides C or E, then finally at hexside D. If
two equally distant hexes are open, such as B or F, the controller
chooses either one

Even if I look to the diagram on page 40 BMM for example for pushing or check the section for displacement, I cannot find an example diagram showing with the full selection of referred to hexsides (A, B, C, D, E & F.)

Where can I find this diagram?
« Last Edit: 21 May 2022, 12:30:01 by Xotl »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10878
  • Professor of Errata
Re: DFA Displacement Question
« Reply #1 on: 21 May 2022, 12:29:53 »
That was pointed out to me recently elsewhere and I've corrected it for upcoming prints of the BMM and AGOAC.  The errata will be up on 6 June, but it will read:

Quote
For example, if a target ’Mech would be displaced through the top hexside, but that is prohibited, its controller then looks at the top-left and top-right hexsides to see if those hexes are passable, then at the bottom-left and bottom-right hexsides, then finally at the bottom hexside. If two equally distant hexes are open, such as top-left and top-right, the controller can choose either one.

3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5967
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) DFA Displacement Question
« Reply #2 on: 21 May 2022, 12:53:23 »
OK, it's what I thought, but will the correction have an associate diagram? I am assuming the correction will also be applied to TOTAL WARFARE as well?
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10878
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) DFA Displacement Question
« Reply #3 on: 21 May 2022, 13:06:59 »
No new diagram: the point of the correction is to remove any reference to a diagram.  And yeah, TW will be fixed as well, although further down the road if I recall correctly.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0