Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Displacement Question Part II - DOMINO EFFECT  (Read 392 times)

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5967
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
In BMM (page 55-56) for the DOMINO EFFECT, I noticed the following:

Quote
If a ’Mech is forced into a hex occupied by another ’Mech, the
’Mech already in the hex (known as “the target ’Mech”) is forced
out of that hex. This is called a domino effect. The target ’Mech
immediately makes a Piloting Skill Roll.

If the target ’Mech fails its PSR, it is displaced into the hex in the
direction opposite the hexside where the intruding ’Mech entered
the hex. The target ’Mech then falls in that hex.

Dodging a Domino Effect: If the target ’Mech’s PSR is instead
successful, and the domino effect also originates from one of the
target’s four side hexes, then the target can dodge the domino
effect by immediately moving one hex directly forward or backward,
so long as all of the following are true:
* it is mobile
* it is standing
* it has enough MP unspent that turn to move into the hex
* it did not jump that turn
* the hex being moved to does not already have a ’Mech in it

As usual, the ’Mech cannot move backward if it ran that turn.

If the target ’Mech’s PSR is successful but it cannot dodge, it is
still forced into the next hex as noted above, but does not fall.

So, if I am reading this correctly, if I have a Target 'Mech that is forced to move due to a Domino Effect, and I make the PSR, if I walked (did not jump or run) and I have MP available I can move into the front or back hex.

But, If I don't meet any of the conditions but I pass the PSR, I am still forced into the Front or Back hex as noted, but does not fall.

I feel I am missing something. Does a successful PSR and having Walking MP available force me to fall? or is this a case of a rule should be simplified down to:

Make a PSR. If successful move the Target 'Mech 1 hex forward/back.
« Last Edit: 29 June 2022, 15:19:46 by Xotl »
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5967
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: Displacement Question Part II - DOMINO EFFECT
« Reply #1 on: 23 June 2022, 15:57:29 »
*One Month Bump-er-roo*
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10877
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Displacement Question Part II - DOMINO EFFECT
« Reply #2 on: 29 June 2022, 15:19:40 »
If you fail, you're displaced no matter what: no other conditions apply.

If you pass, AND if you meet all the various conditionals listed (attack direction plus the bullet points), then you have the option of going forward or backward.

Walking vs running only matters if you want to move backwards, since running prevents backwards movement.  You can have ran, then move forward just fine.

A successful PSR gives you potential options.  It doesn't force you to fall, and in fact guarantees that you do not, since even if you don't dodge you don't fall after you're displaced.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

NeonKnight

  • Freelance Writer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5967
  • Lemme Talk to the Manager!
Re: (Answered) Displacement Question Part II - DOMINO EFFECT
« Reply #3 on: 29 June 2022, 16:36:34 »
OK, thanx
AGENT #575, Vancouver Canada

 

Register