Register Register

Author Topic: Is Sideslipping movement counted for the Target Movement Modifier(TMM)?  (Read 206 times)

Insaniac99

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 542
There is an answered question from 2014 where part of the answer is "the target movement modifier remains simply the number of hexes moved, not including slipping." indicating that sideslipping doesn't affect the TMM.  I can't find anything in the current (2019 Atlas) TW or errata to indicate that. The closest is TW's section on Sideslipping which says

Quote from: Page 67, first paragraph.
While superficially similar to skidding, sideslipping units do not use any of the rules for skidding unless specified otherwise. Most notably, the to-hit modifiers that occur as a result of a unit skidding are not applied, and as a sideslipping unit is not actually touching the ground as it moves, it incurs no damage by sideslipping unless it runs into something.

which doesn't seem to say you don't count sideslipped hexes in the TMM.

  TMM in the book says

Quote from: Page 108
The target movement modifiers are based on the hexes traversed rather than the number of Movement Points spent. If the target moved backward and forward in the turn (regardless of facing changes), base the movement modifier on the number of hexes moved from the hex in which the unit last reversed its movement.

In short, My questions are:

  • Do Sideslipped hexes count for the TMM?
  • Is this something that changed or is there a rule someplace I am missing where it is more explicit?
  • If sideslipped hexes don't count, and assuming I didn't miss a more explicit area can we get a small sentence in Errata that says sideslipped hexes don't count to TMM?
  • Finally, is this true for skidding as well, or only for sideslipping?
« Last Edit: 19 October 2020, 20:50:17 by Insaniac99 »

Insaniac99

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 542
Bump