Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status  (Read 328 times)

Bison AIs

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 277
  • Flechs Dev
    • Flechs
(Answered) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« on: 11 April 2021, 11:41:19 »
Relevant passage:
BMM 2017: Death From Above Attacks (p.36):
"A ’Mech making a DFA cannot be the target of physical attacks..."

Scenario 1.
A Wasp declares a DFA on an Atlas.
The Atlas dies during weapons phase.
The Wasp 'lands normally'.
May another unit kick the Wasp during physicals phase?

i.e.
Is a unit that declared a DFA but lost their target still "making a DFA" during physicals phase for the purpose of determining whether it may be the target of physical attacks?

Scenario 2.
A Wasp declares a DFA on an Atlas.
The Wasp falls during weapons phase, failing their DFA.
May the Atlas kick the Wasp during physicals phase?

i.e.
Is a unit that failed a DFA during weapons phase still "making a DFA" during physicals phase for the purpose of determining whether it may be the target of physical attacks?
« Last Edit: 07 May 2021, 13:31:11 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10069
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« Reply #1 on: 12 April 2021, 00:31:40 »
Please don't edit a post after it's marked (Research), as at that point it's gone to the committee and we're already then discussing what you wrote at that point and won't see your edits.  If you need to add a clarification, make a new post in the thread instead.  Thanks.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Bison AIs

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 277
  • Flechs Dev
    • Flechs
Re: (Research) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« Reply #2 on: 12 April 2021, 13:18:19 »
Roger. Apologies.

Bison AIs

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 277
  • Flechs Dev
    • Flechs
Re: (Research) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« Reply #3 on: 14 April 2021, 14:19:53 »
Given the recent charge answer it _seems_ to follow that the answer here would also be no on both accounts, even though it’s technically a different rule in question.

In the Charge ruling, it’s ultimately the preceding _declaration_ of a physical attack that’s relevant to any restrictions, not the ~current state~ of the attack at the time the prohibition needs enforced. If that holds then  ‘Making a DFA’ effectively means ‘declared a DFA’.

So because the Wasp _declared_ a DFA, they are an illegal target no matter where they may actually be during physicals phase.


Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10069
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« Reply #4 on: 07 May 2021, 13:31:04 »
We've added errata to TW to clarify this:

* Death From Above (p. 149)
Under “Weapon Attack Phase”, replace the fourth paragraph (“Falls”) with the following:

     Falls: If the attacker fails a Piloting Skill Roll in the Weapon Attack Phase (or would automatically fall), instead of falling that phase the DFA automatically misses. Resolve the DFA in the Physical Attack Phase as an unsuccessful attack (see Falls, p. 150).

3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Bison AIs

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 277
  • Flechs Dev
    • Flechs
Re: (Research) DFAs prematurely ended and attacker status
« Reply #5 on: 10 May 2021, 16:52:27 »
We've added errata to TW to clarify this:

* Death From Above (p. 149)
Under “Weapon Attack Phase”, replace the fourth paragraph (“Falls”) with the following:

     Falls: If the attacker fails a Piloting Skill Roll in the Weapon Attack Phase (or would automatically fall), instead of falling that phase the DFA automatically misses. Resolve the DFA in the Physical Attack Phase as an unsuccessful attack (see Falls, p. 150).

Oh, interesting... that means DFAs always displace the target...

From this errata it smells like the "lands without incident" text relevant to scenario 1 (where the target is destroyed in weapons phase) should be read as "lands [during physicals phase] without incident" and presumedly precluding any physicals on the landing unit.

Really appreciate the update!

 

Register