Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Level and terrain in combined partial hexes  (Read 460 times)

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
(Answered) Level and terrain in combined partial hexes
« on: 25 December 2020, 15:42:51 »
Wanted to clarify the rules on combined partial hexes a bit. Simplest to me seems to be following the text on page 49 - if any part of the hex is level 0, the whole hex is level 0, and if not, use the level closest to 0 out of the available options, positive or negative, and (implied in the final sentence of the paragraph) any terrain type indicated on either hex is present across the whole hex, following the Stacked Terrain rules. In the case of determining overall hex level, this seems to contradict the text on page 32. Is this interpretation correct?

(Relevant passages - TW 6th corrected printing PDF)

Page 32, first paragraph on the page: "If any part of a hex contains a sublevel, the entire hex is considered to be the deepest sublevel marked in it. The exception to this rule occurs if the hex also contains a level greater than 0, in which case the level of the hill takes precedence as described above."

The above section seems a little odd, since the only other mention of partially-labeled hexes under the Mapsheets header on the previous page is to note that half-hexes are not legal to occupy during gameplay, while the below section has a prior paragraph mentioning that the question usually arises when combining multiple mapsheets, where the partial hexes at the edges may conflict with each other when combined.

Page 49, under Conflicting Terrain and Levels: "In such cases, if any part of a hex contains Level 0 terrain, the entire hex is considered at Level 0. If no part of the hex contains Level 0 terrain, the entire hex is considered at the level closest to 0. In the case of different levels, the level of the entire hex is the lowest level marked. In the case of sublevels or water, the entire hex is at the highest-marked level or the shallowest depth, in addition to whatever other terrain may be present (see Stacked Terrain, below)."
« Last Edit: 09 May 2021, 13:59:45 by Xotl »

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Level and terrain in combined partial hexes
« Reply #1 on: 03 March 2021, 21:26:37 »
Bump.

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Level and terrain in combined partial hexes
« Reply #2 on: 12 April 2021, 20:43:21 »
Bump.

ArcFurnace

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Level and terrain in combined partial hexes
« Reply #3 on: 05 May 2021, 19:29:34 »
Update: In the 7th printing of Total Warfare, the passage on page 49 has been updated to match the passage on page 32. This question can be considered answered.

Rephrasing for confirmation: if one or both halves of the hex is above level 0, use the highest level as the level of the entire hex. Otherwise, if one or both halves of the hex are below level 0, use the deepest sublevel as the level of the entire hex. (Obviously, if both halves of the hex are level 0, the overall level of the hex is 0).

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10067
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Level and terrain in combined partial hexes
« Reply #4 on: 09 May 2021, 13:59:39 »
The change was deliberate, and due to this thread.  Thanks for your reports.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

 

Register