Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Landing and crashing  (Read 1103 times)

Ryo

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 18
(Answered) Landing and crashing
« on: 12 October 2013, 03:58:54 »
1) Damaged Landing Gear Modifier

"Landing Modifiers Table," p.87 in "Total Warfare":
Quote
Modifier for "Landing gear damaged" is "+3 per box crossed."

"Gear," p.240 in "Critical Hits Effects" of "Total Warfare":
Quote
The landing gear is damaged. Apply a +5 modifier to all Control rolls when attempting to land. Subsequent gear critical hits have no additional effect.
[/s]

+5 modifier is listed inside a gear box in aerospace's record sheet.

I cannot be sure whether the modifier is +5 or +3 per box, when an aerospace unit with damage landing gear is attempting landing. Which is right?

This question has been answered in http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php/topic,36924.0.html

2) Critical Hits to Landing Gear

"Total Warfare Errata v.4.01," p.2:
Quote
Fourth paragraph, after the last sentence insert the following:
“Fighters or small craft with destroyed landing gear cannot launch at all (merely damaged landing gear has no effect).”

I can not find the description when  landing gear is destroyed. Probably when all boxes of landing gear on record sheet was crossed off, a unit's landing gear will be destroyed. Is it right?

3) Crashing Damage

First paragraph of "Crashes," p.81, "Total Warfare":
Quote
The controlling player rolls 2D6, multiplying the result by 10 and then multiplying again by the current velocity of the unit. The final result is the number of damage points the unit suffers.

When the current velocity is 0, what happened to the crashing damage? In this situation is the velocity assumed to be 1?

4) Crashing Damage Example:

4th paragraph of "Examples of Crash," p. 83 in "Total Warfare":
Quote
That unit is in clear terrain, and so it takes double the fighter’s 420 points of damage, for a grand total of 840 points. Talk about overkill!

But 2nd paragraph of "Avoiding of Taking Damage," p.82 in "Total Warfare":
 
Quote
On a result of 4–6, infantry takes damage like non-infantry units.

In the above example, the infantry should take double damage of no-infantry units (that is, 210 x 2 = a ground total of 420 points). Is it right?
« Last Edit: 29 April 2014, 19:08:17 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11068
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Landing and crashing
« Reply #1 on: 29 April 2014, 19:08:10 »
#2 will be answered in the next errata - we're fixing the various inconsistencies there.

#3) Yes.

#4) Yes.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Ryo

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: (Answered) Landing and crashing
« Reply #2 on: 01 May 2014, 08:35:48 »
Thank you, Xotl! I wish the next errata will clarify the no.2 question.

 

Register