Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Mounting infantry in a carrier  (Read 459 times)

DasBooter

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
(Answered) Mounting infantry in a carrier
« on: 02 February 2021, 15:29:41 »
I'm utterly confused about the rule for mounting infantry in Total Warfare. Specifically about how many turns it takes..

I've tried searching the forum but had no joy, tried posting on Classic BT FB group but had conflicting answers.

Imagine you have a carrier several hexes away from an infantry unit that it wants to pick up. Is the following sequence correct?


 -- Carrier has to move before the infantry unit
 -- Carrier moves as normal, but needs to make sure that it stops in the same hex as the infantry unit & still has 1 MP to use
 -- Infantry unit then uses their MP to enter the Carrier, at which point the Carrier spends its 1 MP to mount them.
 -- Next turn, the Carrier (with Infantry unit onboard) can move as normal.

Ie. Picking them up and driving away could be achieved in 2 turns.


The other answer I've been given (which the majority favour) is that it would take 3 turns. Eg. Turn 1: units meet up in same hex but can't mount. Turn 2: the infantry mount (the carrier spends 1mp total). Turn 3 carrier drives off.

Is the key thing that the infantry and carrier have to start the movement phase in the same hex?


Thanks

« Last Edit: 05 May 2021, 15:13:50 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10069
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Mounting infantry in a carrier
« Reply #1 on: 15 April 2021, 20:18:49 »
Your sequence is essentially correct, though the vehicle spends the MP before the infantry unit acts.

The issue is the phrase:
"To mount a carrying unit during a turn, an infantry unit must
start its Ground Movement Phase in the same hex as the carrier."

That could be interpreted as an infantry unit and a carrier must *already* both be in the same hex at the start of the *entire* Ground movement Phase, rather than just the infantry's turn in it, which is the intent.  Change the passage to:

"To mount a carrying unit during a turn, an infantry unit must spend all its MP to enter a carrier in its hex."
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

DasBooter

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: (Answered) (Errata) Mounting infantry in a carrier
« Reply #2 on: 20 April 2021, 08:48:50 »
Thanks very much  :thumbsup:

So if I've read your answer correctly in my scenario picking the infantry up and moving them could be done in 2 turns.

 

Register