Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Small Craft Landing and Liftoff  (Read 1781 times)

Bandit Queen

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 69
(Answered) Small Craft Landing and Liftoff
« on: 27 December 2018, 07:48:09 »
Small Craft are significantly smaller than a DropShip in both tonnage and volume.  The rules for Landing and Liftoff (TW, p.87-88) show that when a DropShip lands it may create a crater 7 hexes in size.  This crater matches it's footprint of 7 hexes, while Aerospace Fighters and Small Craft have a 1 hex footprint.

1)   Will a landing Spheroid Small Craft function similar to an Aerospace Fighter and not create a crater when it lands?

2)   Do Small Craft follow the rules for "Fighters" under "Proximity Damage" when lifting off?

3)   Horizontal liftoffs require 2 Thrust Points to be spent, but do vertical liftoffs require the same amount of thrust?

4)   In addition to the Vertical Liftoff Modifiers Table, are any modifiers from the Control Roll Table (TW, p.93) added to a liftoff roll?  If so, which ones are added?
« Last Edit: 07 December 2022, 13:13:53 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11055
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) Small Craft Landing and Liftoff
« Reply #1 on: 07 December 2022, 13:13:06 »
Small Craft are significantly smaller than a DropShip in both tonnage and volume.  The rules for Landing and Liftoff (TW, p.87-88) show that when a DropShip lands it may create a crater 7 hexes in size.  This crater matches it's footprint of 7 hexes, while Aerospace Fighters and Small Craft have a 1 hex footprint.

1)   Will a landing Spheroid Small Craft function similar to an Aerospace Fighter and not create a crater when it lands?

Correct.  Not a DropShip, no crater.

Quote
2)   Do Small Craft follow the rules for "Fighters" under "Proximity Damage" when lifting off?

Correct.  Not a DropShip, no proximity damage.

Quote
3)   Horizontal liftoffs require 2 Thrust Points to be spent, but do vertical liftoffs require the same amount of thrust?

Correct, per TW, page 88.

Quote
4)   In addition to the Vertical Liftoff Modifiers Table, are any modifiers from the Control Roll Table (TW, p.93) added to a liftoff roll?  If so, which ones are added?

As lifting off is not one of the situations listed on the Control Roll Table and the liftoff rules don't say anything about other modifiers applying, only the modifiers from the Vertical Liftoff Modifiers Table apply.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0