Author Topic: Anti-armour weapons in AToW?  (Read 2440 times)

nonex

• Recruit
Anti-armour weapons in AToW?
« on: 25 October 2013, 10:20:11 »
Hello, I'm new to CBT, but mainly interested in the universe and the roleplaying aspect.

I was looking at the AToW rules and couldn't figure out how an infantryman character is supposed to do meaningful damage to an armoured vehicle or BA. I'm not saying a grunt should be able to destroy either in one hit, but surely a PC should be able to do something to make the player feel like he's contributing. It just doesn't feel the same when you have to have an entire squad firing LAWs simultaneously to destroy one BA. The heavy recoilless rifle also seems to be pretty useless using the AToW conversion rules.

Am I getting something wrong or does the inclusion of armoured vehicles break the game somewhat?

Tai Dai Cultist

• Lieutenant Colonel
Re: Anti-armour weapons in AToW?
« Reply #1 on: 25 October 2013, 10:26:04 »
Hello, I'm new to CBT, but mainly interested in the universe and the roleplaying aspect.

I was looking at the AToW rules and couldn't figure out how an infantryman character is supposed to do meaningful damage to an armoured vehicle or BA. I'm not saying a grunt should be able to destroy either in one hit, but surely a PC should be able to do something to make the player feel like he's contributing. It just doesn't feel the same when you have to have an entire squad firing LAWs simultaneously to destroy one BA. The heavy recoilless rifle also seems to be pretty useless using the AToW conversion rules.

Am I getting something wrong or does the inclusion of armoured vehicles break the game somewhat?

An unarmored character is supposed to stand no chance versus an armored target.  In fact, that man-portable weapons are virtually useless against armor is a good thing, as it doesn't encourage PCs to engage such targets.. since tactical weapons used in return fire will smoke a PC dead in one hit.